THE PREMIER
PERSONAL INJURY FIRM OF OMAHA
Chris and James Welsh of Welsh & Welsh
Proudly fighting for the Omaha community for over 65 years.

Nebraska Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Published on Dec 5, 2017 at 12:30 pm in Car Accidents.

Car accidents are jarring experiences that can cause serious injuries and damage. When the parties involved cooperate, it at least takes some stress off the situation. However, people don’t always do this after an accident. Whether they’re scared or want to try and get away with an accident, they might leave the accident scene.

This doesn’t mean they’re off the hook. In fact, they’ve made their situation worse. Once they decided to leave the accident, they committed a hit-and-run.

If you’ve been injured in a hitcar accident, you need someone at your side who will fight for your rights and get you the compensation you need to recover. The car accident lawyers at Welsh & Welsh in Omaha, Nebraska have years of experience in car accident cases and will work tirelessly until you get justice.

What Constitutes a Hit-and-Run?

When someone is in a car accident, which could be with another car, a pedestrian, or an object like a tree, and then they leave the accident without giving their information to the other party or calling for medical assistance if it’s needed, then they’ve committed a hit-and-run.

At this point, it doesn’t matter who was at fault for the accident. If someone hits you, you still have to stay and give your identity, other information, and help if anyone needs it.

However, if you have to leave the accident so you can get medical help, or need to find a spot where you get a cell phone signal to call the police or an ambulance, then this is allowed. But you have to return to the accident after doing this.

The law states that the driver in an accident needs to stop at the scene of the accident and give their information to the other driver or drivers involved in the crash. The information exchange should include:

  • Contact information.
  • License number.
  • Insurance information.
  • Vehicle models, makes, and years.

What Are the Penalties for a Hit-and-Run?

Failure to stop and comply with this law makes it a hit-and-run, which is a Class II misdemeanor. Those who commit a hit-and-run accident can face fines and some jail time.

Hit-and-runs can also be classified as a felony, which has more serious consequences. Fines could reach up to $20,000 or could face up to 15 years in prison.

Other penalties for a hit-and-run come from the DMV. A hit-and-run conviction means your license can be suspended or revoked for half a year up to three years.

Do You Need a Car Accident Lawyer?

Hit-and-run injuries can prevent you from living your everyday life, working, and take a lot of time and money for you to recover. This can cause a lot of stress and worry about bills and time lost at work.

It can be frustrating to deal with all of this when you’re not at fault. The Omaha car accident lawyers at Welsh & Welsh can help you.

We understand what you’re going through and want you to know that you’re not alone. We’re ready to do everything we can to get you compensation for your injuries, lost wages, and pain and suffering.

Don’t wait another day. Call us now at (402) 384-8160 for a free consultation.